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Chapter 1
GENERAL
1.1 Objective.

These rules are promulgated to provide a uniform system for the fair,
impartial, and prompt disposition of matters properly before the Justice Courts of
Aransas County. They are to be interpreted consistent with this objective.

1.2  Scope.

These rules govern cases filed in the Justice Courts of Aransas County, Texas.

They are promulgated pursuant to Section 27.061 of the Texas Government Code.

1.3 Jurisdiction.

The Justice Courts of Aransas County hear:
(a) Civil cases in which the amount in controversy is $10,000.00 or less.

(b) Eviction cases, both residential and commercial, including writs of Re-entry and
Writ of Restoration.

(c) Administrative hearings involving revocation of drivers licenses, concealed
Hand gun permits, etc.

(d) Criminal offenses which are fine only, both traffic and Class C.

(e) Cases involving animal cruelty and neglect.

(f) Peace Bonds
1.4 Organization.

Each Justice Court in Aransas County has a specific geographical area of
jurisdiction. Precinct One Justice of the peace serves Voter Precinct One (1), One A (1A),
and Voter Precinct Two (2) of Aransas County. Precinct Two Justice of the Peace serves Voter
Precinct Three (3), Voter Precinct Four (4), and Voter Precinct Four A (4A). Each court has its

own court clerks responsible for setting cases on the individual docket of the court.



1.5 Calendar.

Each Justice Court will keep a docket of scheduled hearings and trials. A
weekly docket shall be available to the public for each week’s proceedings.

The elected judges will generally be available as indicated by these rules and
the calendar. However, when a judge is on vacation, at a judicial or educational
conference, or has medical or dental needs, it is the policy of the Justice Courts to
obtain a visiting judge, whenever possible, so that there will be no interruption in
the work of each court. Visiting Judges are also scheduled to help with heavy
workload or crowded dockets. Notice of the assignment of a visiting judge will be

posted as soon as is practical.

1.6 Jury Selection.

The Justice Courts utilize the electronic method of selecting names of
persons assigned for jury service. Jury impaneling is conducted in cooperation with
the District Courts. Questions about the jury impaneling process and jury service may be

addressed to the jury office. District Clerk’s Office 361-790-0128.



Chapter 2

CIVIL CASES

2.1 Filing Cases.

All civil cases shall be filed in the Justice Court where one or more
defendants may reside, except as otherwise provided by law. Eviction cases shall
be filed in the Justice Court where the leased premises are located.

2.2 Mediation.

It is the policy of the Aransas County Justice Courts to encourage the peaceful
resolution of disputes and the early settlement of pending litigation. Each court shall
determine which of its cases to refer to mediation and shall determine to which
mediation service to refer a case.

Any party receiving notice of a referral to mediation has 10 days from date of
notice to file a motion objecting to the referral. If any party to a case files a motion
objecting to the referral to mediation, and the Court finds that there is a reasonable
basis for the objection, the case may be excused from the referral. If either party fails
to attend mediation or if no resolution is reached, the case is to be promptly set for
trial.

2.3 Setting Cases.

All civil cases are to be brought to trial or final disposition as promptly as
practicable.

At any time the Court may order a pre-trial conference. The Court may enter
an order or orders following each pre-trail conference, which would address any
applicable matters.

Each Justice Court shall be responsible for the setting of hearings and trials

in each court and for the notices thereof.



2.4 Demand for Jury.

A party requesting a civil jury trail shall file a written request with the court in
which the case is filed not later than the 14th day before trial. If the demand is not timely,
the right to a jury is waived unless the late filing is excused by the judge for good cause. The
jury fee shall be paid upon filing the request.

2.5 Preferential Settings.

Preferential settings may be obtained at the discretion of the judge.

2.6 Continuances.

Continuances will be heard not later than Thursday of the week preceding
trial. Motions heard on Thursday will be heard at 09:00 A.M. or at such a time scheduled by
the court. The notice and pleading requirements of law must be followed. Continuances may
not be heard thereafter unless they allege grounds which arose only after that time.

2.7 Uncontested Docket.

Uncontested matters and routine matters of very short duration may be
heard at the uncontested docket as scheduled by each court.

The parties are responsible for arranging in advance with the court’s clerk to
have the files pulled and available for the court. If more than two cases will be
presented at the uncontested docket, please inform the clerk of the cause number and
style of each case at least 24 hours in advance.

2.8 Matters Preliminary to Trial on the Merits.

Except for motions for continuance based on new circumstances, all
motions in limine, exceptions and all pre-trial motions and pleas in each jury case
shall be presented and heard at pre-trial hearing. All such exceptions, motions,
and pleas not presented and heard at scheduled pre-trial hearings will be deemed
waived, except upon a showing of good cause.

For non-jury cases all exceptions, motions and pleas must be filed five

days before the scheduled trial before the court.



A movant shall deliver a copy of each pleading to any opposing party and to
the court in the manner and within the time provided by the Texas Rules of Civil
Procedure.

2.9 Hearings Conducted by Telephone.

At the discretion of the judge, and in rare cases, a party or attorney may appear by
telephone conference call. A request by a party for such an arrangement must be made in
advance. In rare cases in the interest of justice, the court may permit a witness to
appear by telephone conference call.

A judge will not initiate a conference call. All arrangements with telephone
operators must be made by the requesting party.

At any time, even after the completion of a conference call, a judge may
determine that a hearing by telephone will not be sufficient and may require a
hearing in court upon notice to all parties.

2.10 Dismissal for Want of Prosecution by the Court

2.10.1 Case Selection.

The following cases are eligible for dismissal for want of prosecution sua
sponte by the Court:

(a) Cases on file for more than 120 days in which no answer, or service has

been filed;

(b)  Cases that have been on file for more than 9 months that are not

set for trial and have had no filings or settings within 180 days;

() Any other case designated by the Court.



2.10.2

2.10.3

2.10.4

2.10.5

2.10.6

Notice.

The court clerk shall give notice that certain cases will be dismissed for
want of prosecution. Such matters will be dismissed on the date indicated in
the notice of dismissal unless the Court orders it retained.

Docket Settings.

Only the Court may make a setting in cases set for dismissal.

Procedures for Retaining Cases and Objecting to Motions to Retain.

(@) Motions to retain shall be filed with the Court at least 10
working days prior to the date specified in the notice of
dismissal for want of prosecution.

(b)  Any party who files a motion to retain shall state in writing the
factual and legal bases why the case should not be dismissed for
want of prosecution.

(c) Parties objecting to a motion to retain shall state in writing the basis
for any objection to the motion to retain within 3 days of service of a
motion to retain.

(d) The Court shall notify all parties of the Court’s ruling on a motion
to retain.

Cases Not Requiring Oral Argument.

Oral arguments on motions to retain or objections to motions to retain,
may be permitted by the Court.

Cases Requiring Oral Argument.

The Court shall notify the parties of the Court’s decision to permit oral
argument, and shall notify the parties of any hearing on motion to retain.
A party wanting to argue a motion to retain or an objection to retention

may appear on the date and time set for dismissal of the case.



2.10.7 Retained Cases.

If the Court decides to retain the case, the Court will set the case for
trial at the convenience of the Court. The Court will notify the parties of the
setting. At the setting, the case will be tried or dismissed.

2.10.8 Includes all Pending Claims.

References in this chapter to a “case” include all pending claims in the
case.

2.11 Drafts of Judgments and Orders.

So far as practicable, every draft of a judgment or order to be signed by a
judge should be approved as to form by attorneys for all parties before it is presented
to the judge.

A draft of an order shall not be typed on the same page with a pleading,
motion, certificate of service, or any part thereof, and each such draft shall have a
heading showing the cause number, the style of the case, and the court in which it is
pending.

The word “entered” should not be used in the line provided immediately
above the judge’s signature to show the date on which a judgment or order is signed.

2.12 Motions to Withdraw as Attorney.

Except as provided in Rules 8 and 10, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, a
motion to withdraw will be granted without a hearing only if the moving
attorney:

(a) Files written consents to the withdrawal signed by attorneys for all parties;
and

(b) Files a written consent to the withdrawal signed by the client, or includes
in the motion a specific statement of the circumstances that justify the withdrawal
and the circumstances that prevent the moving attorney from obtaining the client’s

written consent; and



(c) Files a certificate stating the last known mailing address of the client.

If all requirements above are not satisfied, a motion to withdraw or to
substitute another attorney must be presented at a hearing after notice to the client

and to all other parties.

2.13 Holidays.

When any date mentioned in these rules falls on a court holiday then the
applicable date shall be the first date following the holiday.

The court holidays shall be published.

2.14 Authorization to Serve Citation (Rule 536 & Rule 103).

(A) All Private Process Servers Approved by the Texas Supreme Court

(B) A person wishing to be authorized by written order of the court to serve
citations and other notices may file a written affidavit in application for authorization.
The Court may, upon approval of the application, authorize service by the applicant in all
appropriate suits pending in that Justice Court. Prior to, or in conjunction with the
filing of return of service in any suit, the person verifying the return shall also file an
affidavit that he or she is not a party to and has no interest in said suit. The affidavit
may be part of the verified return required by Rule 107, Texas Rules of Civil

Procedure.



Chapter 3
Criminal Cases

3.1 Filing Cases.

Justice Court cases shall be filed in any precinct located in the county or where the
offense is alleged to have occurred, except for cases involving school attendance, which may
be filed in any precinct in the county.

Offenses alleged to have been committed in more than one precinct may be
filed in any precinct that the offense, or any portion of the offense, is alleged to have
occurred.

The Justice Court may transfer a school attendance case to Juvenile Court whenever a
defendant also has pending juvenile cases in Aransas County.

3.2 First Appearance.

Unless otherwise directed, defendants will appear at the Justice Court in
which the case is filed, according to the date and location written on their citation
or summons.

Subsequent appearances will be as scheduled by the Court.

3.3 Setting Cases.

All Criminal Not Guilty Plea will be brought to trial as promptly as practicable in which
the case is docketed. Each Justice Court shall be responsible for the setting of hearings and
trials in each court and for the notices thereof.

Attorneys or defendants may request that a case be reset no later than the day
before the current setting in accordance with court rules.

Court clerks are authorized to give the following settings; (one continuance per party)

all others must be approved by the Judge.

(@) Announcement Docket

Defendants may discuss their cases with a prosecutor, plead guilty or no

contest to resolve the case, or reset the case for trial.



(b) Pretrial

Pretrials are normally conducted in Class C cases on the day of trial. Special
pretrial settings must be requested and approved by the Court. Pretrial motions
must be filed and served on the County Attorney 15 days prior to any pretrial
hearing.

All pretrial hearings will be held on the day set unless a written State or
Defense motion for continuance is granted.

(c) Trial before the Court (TBC)

Attorneys and defendants should not set a case for TBC unless the defendant
and the State intend to waive jury. All cases shall be tried when set unless a written
State or Defense motion for continuance is granted.

(d) Jury Trial

Defense attorney and/or defendant shall appear at the scheduled jury setting.
State and Defense must either announce ready or file a written motion for
continuance. If the defendant waives jury at the docket call, a written waiver, signed

by counsel and/or defendant must be presented.

3.4 Plea of Guilty or Nolo Contendere.

Defendants may enter a plea of guilty or no contest at any time, with or
without a plea agreement. Each Justice Court shall maintain a list of “standard” fines
for various offenses. Defendants may also elect to enter a plea of guilty or no contest

and address the Judge regarding punishment.

3.5 Appointment of Counsel.

Indigent defendants are not entitled to a court appointed attorney, as a matter

of law, when charged with a fine-only offense.

10



3.6 Motions to Withdraw or Substitute.

An attorney becomes attorney of record in a misdemeanor case by listing his
or her name on pleadings or by setting or resetting the case. He or she remains
attorney of record until relieved by written order of the Court.

An attorney’s motion to withdraw will be heard at any time when the
defendant has had notice to appear or whenever the defendant agrees in writing.
Adequate notice is by certified mail, return receipt requested.

Motions to substitute counsel will be granted without hearing so long as the

scheduling of trial will not be delayed by the change in counsel.
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Chapter 4

Rules of Decorum

4.1 Opening Procedure.

Immediately before the scheduled time for the first court session on each
day the bailiff shall direct all persons present to their seats and shall cause the
courtroom to come to order. As the Judge enters the courtroom the bailiff or the
court clerk shall state:
“All rise.”
And while everyone is still standing, the bailiff shall announce: “Justice of
the Peace Court, Precinct ___ of Aransas County, Texas is now in session, Judge ___

presiding. Please be seated.”

4.2 Recess

When the Judge announces a recess, the bailiff shall state: “All rise.”

And all shall remain standing until the Judge leaves the courtroom,
whereupon the bailiff shall announce: “The Court is now in recess”.

In reconvening after a recess, the bailiff shall call the courtroom to order and
request everyone to rise as the Judge enters and shall state:

“Please be seated.”

Before a recess of a jury trial, the jury will be excused, and all other persons
present shall remain seated while the bailiff conducts the jury from the courtroom
into the jury room.

After a recess, the bailiff shall direct all jurors to the jury room and shall call
the courtroom to order and request everyone to rise as the Judge enters, as in non-
jury trials. The jury shall be returned to the jury box from the jury room, upon the

instruction of the Judge.
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4.3 General Rules of Courtroom Conduct.

All officers of the court, except the Judge and jurors, and all other
participants, except witnesses who have been placed under the rule, shall promptly
enter the courtroom before the scheduled time for each court session. When the
bailiff calls the Court to order, complete order should be observed.

In the courtrooms there shall be:

(a) no tobacco used,;

(b) no chewing gum;

(c) no excessively short pants or bare midriffs;

(d) no reading of newspapers;

(e) no audible cell phones or pagers;

(f) no bottles, cups or beverage containers except court water, pitchers and
cups or as otherwise permitted by the Judge;

(g) no edibles;

(h) no propping of feet on tables or chairs;

(i) no noise or talking that interferes with court proceedings.

The Judge, the attorneys, and other officers of the court will refer to and
address other court officers and other participants in the proceedings respectfully
and impersonally, as by using appropriate titles and surnames rather than first
names.

All officers of the court should dress appropriately for court sessions.

4.4 Attorneys

(a) Attorneys should observe the letter and spirit of all canons of ethics,
including those dealing with discussion of cases with representatives of the media
and those concerning improper ex parte communications with the Judge.

(b) Attorneys should advise their clients and witnesses of Local Rules of
Decorum that may be applicable.

(c) All objections, arguments, and other comments by counsel shall be directed
to the Judge or jury and not to opposing counsel.

13



(d) While another attorney is addressing the Judge or jury, an attorney should
not stand for any purpose except to make an appropriate motion, request or objection
to the Court.

(e) Attorneys should not approach the bench without leave of court and must
never lean on the bench.

(f) Attorneys shall remain seated at the counsel tables at all times except:

(1) when the Judge enters and leaves;

(2) when addressing the Judge or jury; and

(3) whenever it may be proper to handle documents, exhibits, or other
evidence (leave of court is not required.)

(g) Attorneys should anticipate any need to move furniture, appliances, or
easels, and should make advance arrangements with the Court. Tables should not be

moved during court sessions, unless approved by the Court.

4.5 Broadcast Media

Requests to broadcast court proceedings shall be determined by each Judge on

a case by case assessment after consultation with all the parties to a case.
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5.1

5.2

Chapter 5

Transfer of Cases/Docket Exchange/Bench Exchange

Civil Cases.
(@) At the Judge’s discretion, a Justice of the Peace court in one precinct
may transfer a pending civil case to another Justice of the Peace court in

Aransas County, provided that the receiving Judge has no objection to the

transfer.
(b) The parties lack standing to contest or request the transfer.
(o) Once transferred, the case proceeds as if it arose originally in the court

to which it was transferred.

Criminal Cases.

(a) A judge may transfer a pending misdemeanor case to another Justice of
the Peace court in Aransas County, provided that the receiving Judge has
no objection to the transfer.

(b) The defendant has 10 days to object in writing to the transfer.

(c) Once transferred, the case proceeds as if it arose originally in the court
to which it was transferred.

(d) Either Justice of the Peace may act for the other Justice of the Peace during
Magistration.
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